TAC Rules and Regulations
Governor Abbott Lifts COVID-19 Mask Mandate and other Related Restrictions
Executive Order GA-34 – Relating to the opening of Texas in response to the COVID-19 disaster
The Texas State Board of Dental Examiners has updated Rule 110.13, Required Preoperative Checklist for Administration of Nitrous Oxide and Levels 1, 2, 3, and 4 Sedation/Anesthesia, to require that the following information be documented on the preoperative checklist:
* Review of patient medications;
* Confirmation that written/verbal preoperative and postoperative instructions were delivered to the patient/guardian;
* Special preoperative considerations as indicated for sedation/anesthesia administered to
pediatric and/or high-risk patients; and,
* Documentation of the reason for omission of any items.
During a recent visit with a board investigator, the investigator specified that the Board expected to see this information as documentation categories on the preoperative checklist and not just in the notes section.
We have, therefore, developed an updated Preoperative Checklist as a sample document for TSOMS members’ use. Questions about the updated rule or document may be directed to Kelly Parker, Director of Government Affairs, at [email protected], or 210-216-7081.
22 Tex. Admin. Code 111.1 (Standards for Prescribing Controlled Substances and Dangerous Drugs) Additional Continuing Education Required (NOTE: At their November 2019 meeting, the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners adopted revisions to 22 Tex. Admin. Code 111.1, Additional Continuing Education Required. The revised requirements, which become effective September 1, 2020, read as follows. Revised text is underlined.)
(a) Effective until September 1, 2020, each dentist who is permitted by the Drug Enforcement Agency to prescribe controlled substances shall complete every three years a minimum of two hours of continuing education in the abuse and misuse of controlled substances, opioid prescription practices, and/or pharmacology. This continuing education may be utilized to fill the continuing education requirements of annual renewal.
(b) Effective beginning September 1, 2020, each dentist who is permitted by the Drug Enforcement Agency (or any subsequent permitting authority authorized by state and federal law) to prescribe controlled substances must complete 2 hours of continuing education related to approved procedures of prescribing and monitoring controlled substances as outlined in paragraphs (1) – (3) of this subsection. These 2 hours of continuing education may be used to satisfy the recordkeeping continuing education requirements of §104.1 of this title (relating to Requirement). After completing the initial requirement, a dentist may, no more than once annually, take the course under this subsection to fulfill hours toward the recordkeeping continuing education requirement.
(1) For dentists authorized to prescribe controlled substances before September 1, 2020, the 2 hours of required continuing education must be completed no later than September 1, 2021.
(2) For dentists who are authorized to prescribe controlled substances on or after September 1, 2020, the 2 hours of required continuing education must be completed not later than the first anniversary after the person is issued an authorization to prescribe.
(3) For dentists who have surrendered the permit or authorization to prescribe controlled substances or have their permit or authorization to prescribe controlled substances revoked by any administrative, civil, or criminal proceeding, the requirements of paragraph (2) of this subsection shall apply to any new permit or authorization granted on or after September 1, 2020, regardless of whether the dentist previously satisfied the requirements of this subsection.